The 2010 Olympics and its Protesters


I’ve spent some time wondering how alone I might be in my near complete lack of sympathy for most (not necessarily all) of the groups going out of their way to protest the upcoming Olympic celebrations. Talking with some coworkers I find that I’m more than likely in the majority as opposed to the minority. The vast majority of people I’ve spoken with seem to have close to the same viewpoint as myself.

As it stands I am your average Canadian in almost every way. I go to work, I pay my taxes, I take care of my 2.3 kids and 1.4 dogs while paying the mortgage on my not-quite-yet white picket fence home. The Canadian dream right? SURE. This ‘dream’ as it is put requires a lot of work and not a lot of room for play at times.

Now in my ever so humble opinion the upcoming games are a jolt of excitement to the average Lower Mainland citizen’s daily grind. We get to root for our country on our own turf. We get amazing facilities that will endure long after the games are gone as well as the lasting tourism effects. For those of us (ie: me) who don’t have crazy amounts of extra cash there’s an abundance of free events and entertainment out there also. Go to www.citycaucus.com to check it out or http://vancitybuzz.blogspot.com Both spots have a lot of great info.

This slowly brings me around to my point. Why do I, as a hard working and responsible Canadian taxpayer, have to feel bad about being able to enjoy these games?

The APC and various other hippy-dippy groups are intent on ruining the experience for us, our visitors and the competing athletes. They’re screaming about fund this and fund that and social housing and free such and such. Don’t get me wrong… it’s not that I’m not sympathetic at all. I just think that they’re going about it the wrong way if they want anyone to pay attention and not write them off as more jobless hippy protesters. They need to find a better venue other than staging sit-ins, protests and disrupting what should be an amazing celebration of world unity and competition.

WAAA..... I WANT I WANT I WANT.

Bottom line is this… while I feel that we as citizens have a responsibility to do our best to help out those in less fortunate situations than we are I do NOT believe that I should carry a weight on my shoulders because I’m fortunate enough to be able to celebrate with the rest of the world at these 2010 games.

Now I’m not expecting everyone to agree with me completely but really… don’t we (the 40hr a week grinders) deserve a bit of excitement?

What’s your take friends? I’d love to hear it!

~ by canadianboarder on January 29, 2010.

4 Responses to “The 2010 Olympics and its Protesters”

  1. Totally agree, and if all these people put their energy into making the games a success, it would benefit everyone anyway.

  2. for every protester I see I am going to support and have MORE fun than I originally was going to in support of the Vancouver 2010 games

  3. I couldn’t agree more, i myself am really looking forward to people from all around the world coming to Vancouver. I took a few days off work and my school will be closed for the games aswell so i’ll have time to enjoy them.

    I understand these peoples frustrations but what i don’t understand is why they don’t work to improve their own situations instead of protesting wanting something for nothing.

  4. now personally im not a particular fan of the olympic games but personal opinion aside…

    regarding these protestors: their tactics are hardly productive and their timing is a bit late RE the 2010 olympics anyhow – that money is already spent. If they want tax funds allocated to other avenues, there are better ways to go about making that happen instead of standing on the street throwing a tantrum after the fact.

Leave a comment